Monday, October 24, 2016

2016 Ballon d'Or 30 man shortlist includes Cristiano Ronaldo and others

France Football magazine is revealing the 30-man shortlist in bunches of five players throughout Monday.

The award has been given by France Football every year since 1956, but for the past six years it became the Fifa Ballon d'Or in association with world football's governing body.

Barcelona forward Lionel Messi won the award last year for a record fifth time.

The last time a player other than Messi or Ronaldo won was in 2007, when then AC Milan playmaker Kaka took the honour.

 Five Premier League players - City trio Yaya Toure, Aguero and De Bruyne, Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez and Chelsea's Eden Hazard - made a 23-man shortlist last year, with Bale the only British player on the list.

Ibrahimovic and Manchester United team-mate Paul Pogba were also included last time for their performances with Juventus and Paris St-Germain.

The shortlist has traditionally been trimmed to three before the awards evening in January.

2016 Ballon d'Or shortlist

Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
(Borussia Dortmund), Gareth Bale (Real Madrid), Gianluigi
Buffon (Juventus), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Kevin de
Bruyne (Manchester City), Paulo Dybala (Juventus), Diego
Godin (Atletico Madrid), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid),
Gonzalo Higuain (Juventus), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester
United), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid),
Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Robert Levandowski (Bayern

No comments:

Post a Comment